i c whut you did thar

The irrepressible Corey Lewis is one of the first wave of cartoonists in DC’s Zuda webcomics site. His strip is called Dead in the Now. Not a lot of content yet (and that interface is pretty clunky…), but as a card-carrying comics formalist, I was enthralled by this little moment:

Word balloons in Rey’s Dead in the Now

Check out those word balloons! They go into and back out of the page to avoid the zombie’s head!

How did that make me feel, Roast Beef?

2 Responses to “i c whut you did thar”


  1. 1 Eliah October 31, 2007 at 3:25 pm

    Oh man, it took me a while to figure out what you were talking about. I’d originally assumed the word balloons belonged to the zombie, and was wondering why there were little nails falling from the sky…so, nice device, but evidently fraught with peril ;)

  2. 2 Josh October 31, 2007 at 7:16 pm

    Aah! I completely failed to notice that! That’s awesome!

    Clunky viewer aside, I really dug Dead In The Now. Corey Lewis is like (and I might be entirely up my own ass on this) the Teen Titans cartoon to, I dunno, Paul Pope’s Batman: The Animated Series.


Leave a Reply

Leigh Walton talks comics and maybe other arts. (RSS)
He also works for the very excellent publisher Top Shelf Productions (which does not necessarily endorse the views and opinions, etc, herein).

Categories

Header by me. Contains an interpolation of the final panel from All-Star Superman #1 by Grant Morrison and Frank Quitely. Speaking of which.

